Evan and the Eggs (experiments in digital coloring)

(click for embiggening powers)

Evan and the Eggs

A frequent mental refrain of mine is “Dang, wouldn’t it be cheaper/less messy/take less space if I just worked digitally?” Typically this sentiment is quickly dashed when I actually give it a shot, throwing up my hands in frustration when I take a stab at coloring some meant-for-watercolor linework in photoshop and find myself frustrated with the results (except for that Fireside Magazine cover of mine, but special cases.)

WELL. I stuck with it this time. And I have to say, I’m rather fond of the result.

What do you think? I also played with using a textured paper I’d scanned as a background:

Evan and the Eggs -- with paper texture

This is all rather new to me, and I’d really love some input! I’m personally leaning a little toward the paper background, but since I’m so used to traditional painting/printmaking I’m wondering if I’m just using it as a crutch to make myself more comfortable.

(And if you think that looks like a certain Evan we all know sitting in the tree, you’re right. He took one look at my original thumbnail, and declared that he wanted to be in it:

Image

Evan, you have odd tastes.)

 

