Grangy, or Of Rotting Logs

An illustration I had to scrabble to finish after returning from Canada is online already! It’s for a story on AESciFi (The Canadian Science Fiction Review) by Michael Hodges about a strange little critter and the nebulous give/take relationship it has with the narrator.

Grangy

I decided to experiment a little on this one, and it’s the first illustration I’ve inked entirely by brush. I really like how it turned out, I have to say, and it was so much quicker to do than with a dip pen. I obviously didn’t go for as fine a line as I normally do with a pen (not everyone is as proficient with single-hair brushes as Niroot), but I think the effect worked for this subject. Working on another quick personal piece at the moment to see whether I feel like sticking with this method. I’ll report back.

Oh and a reminder! The Fireside Magazine funding drive has 17 days to go. Donate $25 and you’ll get a signed high quality print of the cover art, by me! *hint hint*

Expound Here

