Blog award

EAL of the blog Assembling Imaginations has passed the Liebster blog award on to me! Besides being extremely flattered, I think this is an awesome idea. Sort of a like a chain letter, but the purpose is encouraging recognition of less-visited blogs.

Liebster blog awardEAL’s summary of the rules:

The award is given to bloggers with fewer than 200 followers, and the rules are:

1. Thank the giver and link back to the blogger who gave it to you.
2. Reveal your top 5 picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
3. Copy and paste the award on your blog.
4. Have faith that your followers will spread the love to other bloggers.
5. And most of all – have bloggity-blog fun!

I did some Googling, and the rules seem to vary (300 followers or less or 200, 3 or 5 blogs) but I wasn’t able to figure out who originated the award. Great idea, whoever it was!

Except on blogs where follower count is visible, I’m not positive how to tell a person’s follower count without ruining the surprise. So I’m guessing! Apologies if I underestimate anyone’s readership, the intentions are good.

1. Kit Seaton of A Corrupted Endeavor — A favorite artist and a friend. She certainly has a readership, but as sketchblogs seem to be losing popularity I worry that she doesn’t have enough. Go marinate in her awesome!

2. FairyHedgehog is a writer, and a rambler, and a damn nice person on the internets. True story: I found her originally by googling folklore about fairy hedgehogs, then stayed for the cool stuff she says. She’s progressive and super inclusive and just about the most terrific. Absolutely take a look at her recommended blogs list, too.

3. Michelle Farran of There is an Octopus in my Handbag (aka Why Mice Sing). Someone who found me randomly through the internet. She is an artist and a geologist and everything she posts is beautiful. She also has a thing for cephalopods, which is why her second blog Vulgar Army is about octopi in political cartoons.

4. Evan Jensen of Squirrels on Tap (or Evan’s skethbloggery, or whatever he’s calling it these days). Nepotism? Perhaps. But I wouldn’t have married the guy if he wasn’t strange and creative and ridiculously talented. Mutual respect is important in any relationship. So if you like steampunk, hedgehogs, steampunk hedgehogs and bold watercolors of strange creatures, check his blog out too.

5. Allyson Rudolph, who I met through 826DC. She herself is a feminist, writer, nerd, and fellow DC-ite (thought sadly not for much longer). Her blog is filled with thoughtful ruminations on books she’d read (she has a really terrific reading list), politics, life, living in DC, cats, and more. The blog theme feels mellow, but her insights are sharp. Go read them.

There are so many more that come to mind now… I’m going to have to do some more link boosting in the near future. In the meantime, I hope you take a few minutes to check these out! You may find something you like.