Inky fingers

First of all, I finally set up a new Flickr account! Since I couldn’t get back into my old one… If you’re a flickr user, find and contact me! :)

This post is going to be a bit of a sketchdump. I’ve been working on that inky, chunky linework a little more, and made two more pieces with that in mind:

Inky self portrait

Inky self portrait

Ahhh… I’m having flashbacks to highschool. Self portraits. Well, it does look like me: angry. Though maybe older? The ink was acrylic, but despite that it still smeared when I put down water: too much ink. Also, that weird thorny thing and flower up front? To hide smudge marks where my inky hand landed on the page…

The short way homeHad a *lot* of fun with that leave mold. Not so sure about my idea of using blue ink (or on the general design of that creature, or the girl…) Also, something this complex needs to be a tad bigger than 4 x 6″.

Moleskine frontispiece

Moleskine frontispiece

I always like putting *something* on those first blank pages. Those are Jack O’Lantern mushrooms. The ink I used on the left didn’t like moleskine paper much, though. Soaked in as if I’d put it on a sponge. Trying Dr. Ph Martin’s Bombay black next time.