Draconic Victoriana mailer, WIP

Since I’m almost done with this piece, I thought it was probably time to post the WIP sketches for it. Or rather, the time might have been a few days ago, and I’m just behind. This image is going on my (first ever, since again I’m always behind on things) illustrator’s mailer! I’ll post the final, plus the image from the back, in a day or two.

I have to admit, I’m pretty excited about how it all turned out.

The reference for the figure came from an old photograph of Jeanette Jerome Churchill (Lady Randolph Churchill, Winston’s mum). It’s a pretty striking portrait of her in riding gear, and one I might try reinterpreting again in the future.

There she is, in sepia ink! Done with a crow’s quill, because I can’t leave my love of those things behind.

The idea behind the dragon is that it’s an analogous stage in dragon evolution to, say, Velociraptor or other feathered raptors. If dinosaurs, why not dragons? There are more sketches of feathered dragons in my sketchbook, which I’ll scan at some point soon.

One thought on “Draconic Victoriana mailer, WIP

  1. Pingback: Lisa Grabenstetter – Draconian Victorian | Illustration and Art News for Illustrators and Artists

Expound Here

